Cookie and Privacy Settings

This website uses cookies to enable essential functions like the user login and sessions. We also use cookies and third-party tools to improve your surfing experience on preplounge.com. You can choose to activate only essential cookies or all cookies. You can always change your preference in the cookie and privacy settings. This link can also be found in the footer of the site. If you need more information, please visit our privacy policy.

Data processing in the USA: By clicking on "I accept", you also consent, in accordance with article 49 paragraph 1 sentence 1 lit. GDPR, to your data being processed in the USA (by Google LLC, Facebook Inc., LinkedIn Inc., Stripe, Paypal).

Manage settings individually I accept
expert
Expert with best answer

Ian

100% Recommendation Rate

201 Meetings

16,369 Q&A Upvotes

USD 289 / Coaching

7

Unpleasant Experience with Coach

Has anyone had a similar experience with some coaches on PrepLounge who kept asking to leave upvotes / good reviews after having sessions with them? I understand that promoting / marketing is important for coaches on PrepLounge, but I believe that like anything else in life, there is a good balance of giving and taking.

For example, a coach offered to revise my resume, cover letter and to provide other perks if I book sessions with them. However, after our sessions, the coach did not fulfill all the promises but instead kept asking to leave upvotes / positive reviews. Furthermore, in the past, the coach was very responsive and helpful, but now it's no longer the case except when the coach is asking for favors.

My feeling is that some coaches seem to be very responsive and helpful before booking sessions with them, but once your sessions are done or you are no longer paying for additional sessions, their attitudes change and only focus on getting new clients instead of providing support to previous ones.

That being said, I still want to thank the coaches on PrepLounge who have been very helpful in our preparation process whether through answering Q&As or delivering high quality coaching sessions and providing constant support to candidates.

Has anyone had a similar experience with some coaches on PrepLounge who kept asking to leave upvotes / good reviews after having sessions with them? I understand that promoting / marketing is important for coaches on PrepLounge, but I believe that like anything else in life, there is a good balance of giving and taking.

For example, a coach offered to revise my resume, cover letter and to provide other perks if I book sessions with them. However, after our sessions, the coach did not fulfill all the promises but instead kept asking to leave upvotes / positive reviews. Furthermore, in the past, the coach was very responsive and helpful, but now it's no longer the case except when the coach is asking for favors.

My feeling is that some coaches seem to be very responsive and helpful before booking sessions with them, but once your sessions are done or you are no longer paying for additional sessions, their attitudes change and only focus on getting new clients instead of providing support to previous ones.

That being said, I still want to thank the coaches on PrepLounge who have been very helpful in our preparation process whether through answering Q&As or delivering high quality coaching sessions and providing constant support to candidates.

7 answers

  • Upvotes
  • Date ascending
  • Date descending
Best Answer
Book a coaching with Ian

100% Recommendation Rate

201 Meetings

16,369 Q&A Upvotes

USD 289 / Coaching

Hi there,

Unfortunately it looks like this coach isn't acting in good faith. Sorry to hear about this :/ I promise we aren't all like this!

The founders/moderators of PrepLounge work hard to keep it a positive experience so please don't hesitate to make them aware of this...it's more than likely the coach just needs to be made aware of this and that, once made aware, they'll stop!

On behalf of everyone, I'm sorry you've had this experience.

Hi there,

Unfortunately it looks like this coach isn't acting in good faith. Sorry to hear about this :/ I promise we aren't all like this!

The founders/moderators of PrepLounge work hard to keep it a positive experience so please don't hesitate to make them aware of this...it's more than likely the coach just needs to be made aware of this and that, once made aware, they'll stop!

On behalf of everyone, I'm sorry you've had this experience.

Book a coaching with Clara

100% Recommendation Rate

50 Meetings

12,512 Q&A Upvotes

USD 229 / Coaching

Hello!

Sorry to hear about that :(

I would advise you to report it if it really bugs you, it would improve the overall experience for sure.

Hope it helps!

Cheers,

Clara

Hello!

Sorry to hear about that :(

I would advise you to report it if it really bugs you, it would improve the overall experience for sure.

Hope it helps!

Cheers,

Clara

Book a coaching with Antonello

99% Recommendation Rate

142 Meetings

4,830 Q&A Upvotes

USD 219 / Coaching

Hi,

I'm sorry for the bad experience...

Thanks for supporting the hard work and dedication the other coaches devolve to the platform.

Best,

Antonello

Hi,

I'm sorry for the bad experience...

Thanks for supporting the hard work and dedication the other coaches devolve to the platform.

Best,

Antonello

Book a coaching with Iman

100% Recommendation Rate

16 Meetings

1,501 Q&A Upvotes

USD 159 / Coaching

Hi,

Really sorry that you had the experience.

I am pretty sure that this is not representative of all the coaches here. In every organization we will encounter some outliers. Hopefully you can still get the support you need from the other coaches to get the job you wanted.

Best,
Iman

Hi,

Really sorry that you had the experience.

I am pretty sure that this is not representative of all the coaches here. In every organization we will encounter some outliers. Hopefully you can still get the support you need from the other coaches to get the job you wanted.

Best,
Iman

Dear Anonymous,

thank you for your honesty about the experience you made on PrepLounge with some of our coaches. However, reporting those coaches, in this case, would really make a difference. This way we can encourage them to support coachees throughout their preparation journey. Some coaches might not even be aware of it. A little food for thought could already help to improve the situation and make it a positive experience for all parties involved.

Please don't hesitate to reach out so that we can work on this together!

Best,

Christine
Community Management

Dear Anonymous,

thank you for your honesty about the experience you made on PrepLounge with some of our coaches. However, reporting those coaches, in this case, would really make a difference. This way we can encourage them to support coachees throughout their preparation journey. Some coaches might not even be aware of it. A little food for thought could already help to improve the situation and make it a positive experience for all parties involved.

Please don't hesitate to reach out so that we can work on this together!

Best,

Christine
Community Management

Book a coaching with Gaurav

100% Recommendation Rate

195 Meetings

4,962 Q&A Upvotes

USD 209 / Coaching

Hello there!

Sorry you've had such an experience.

I agree with you about the balance, good reviews are nice to have, but they should be voluntary, not as a result of "chasing" previous clients.
Keeping in touch as well as good relationships are much more important.

I also think you could share it with the moderators.

Cheers,
GB

Hello there!

Sorry you've had such an experience.

I agree with you about the balance, good reviews are nice to have, but they should be voluntary, not as a result of "chasing" previous clients.
Keeping in touch as well as good relationships are much more important.

I also think you could share it with the moderators.

Cheers,
GB

(edited)

I have also had negative experiences with a few coaches after paying for a session, who before and during the meeting offered or agreed to review documents, answer questions, etc., including for after the session. However, in reality, after the meeting ended, they did not respond to any of my (polite, professional) messages or emails, even for specific topics where they agreed they would help. I have to say I found this offensive to say the least. It doesn't matter if you have worked at a highly ranked consulting firm; if your coachees don't matter to you any more because they are no longer "revenue-generating", then this can't help your long-term reputation as a business professional. It's pretty arrogant.

That said, I have also encountered extremely helpful coaches on this platform who, following paid sessions, respond to every single one of my (possibly naïve but genuine) questions and run a great after-sales service. I look forward to keeping in contact with them professionally even after my consulting prep journey ends, whatever the outcome, and to them I'm grateful.

I guess the quality of coaches encountered here is only to be expected as in many other (though not all) organizations.

I have also had negative experiences with a few coaches after paying for a session, who before and during the meeting offered or agreed to review documents, answer questions, etc., including for after the session. However, in reality, after the meeting ended, they did not respond to any of my (polite, professional) messages or emails, even for specific topics where they agreed they would help. I have to say I found this offensive to say the least. It doesn't matter if you have worked at a highly ranked consulting firm; if your coachees don't matter to you any more because they are no longer "revenue-generating", then this can't help your long-term reputation as a business professional. It's pretty arrogant.

That said, I have also encountered extremely helpful coaches on this platform who, following paid sessions, respond to every single one of my (possibly naïve but genuine) questions and run a great after-sales service. I look forward to keeping in contact with them professionally even after my consulting prep journey ends, whatever the outcome, and to them I'm grateful.

I guess the quality of coaches encountered here is only to be expected as in many other (though not all) organizations.

(edited)

Dear Anonymous, please don't hesitate to reach out so that we can find a solution for this situation! — Christine on Jan 07, 2021