Got to McK final round, will I need to take PSG again in the future?

McKinsey PST
New answer on Jun 30, 2022
7 Answers
164 Views
Anonymous A asked on Jun 28, 2022

As title says, I got to McKinsey final round and did not have it since I took another MBB offer (politely communicated it to McK and no bridges were burnt). Assuming I'd want to switch to McK in the future, will I need to take the PSG again or will my previous score be valid?

Overview of answers

Upvotes
  • Upvotes
  • Date ascending
  • Date descending
Best answer
Clara
Expert
Content Creator
replied on Jun 30, 2022
McKinsey | Awarded professor at Master in Management @ IE | MBA at MIT |+180 students coached | Integrated FIT Guide aut

Hello!

Precisely for that I would 100% advise everyone to do the final round and try to get the offer, even if then you turn it down. In the event of having to come back to McK, you would already have it. 

This said, most likely they won´t make you start the process from the very beginning. 

Hope it helps!

Cheers, 

Clara

Was this answer helpful?
Francesco
Expert
Content Creator
replied on Jun 29, 2022
#1 Coach for Sessions (4.000+) | 1.400+ 5-Star Reviews | Proven Success (➡ InterviewOffers.com) | Ex BCG | 9Y+ Coaching

Hi there,

Congratulations on the MBB offer! Regarding your question:

Q: Assuming I'd want to switch to McK in the future, will I need to take the PSG again or will my previous score be valid?

The score is valid for one year. So if you apply after that and they are not considering you as an experienced hire, yes, you will likely have to take it again.

If you apply as an experienced hire, it depends on the office and the experience you have. In some cases you don’t have to do it, but I recently helped a candidate with 9 years of experience and they asked him to take it.

Best,

Francesco

Was this answer helpful?
Florian
Expert
Content Creator
replied on Jun 29, 2022
#1 rated McKinsey Case and PEI Coach | 5 years at McKinsey | Mentorship Approach | 120+ McK offers in 18 months

Hey there,

Congrats on your offers! :-)

Solve game scores are valid for one year globally. If you apply again after one year, you would need to retake it.

However, if you have already received an offer once, it might very well be that they will go through a rapid recruiting round with partners only for the next time. The focus of their questions will then be around ‘’what makes you want to join McKinsey now and what is different from the last time?''

Cheers,

Florian

Was this answer helpful?
Cristian
Expert
Content Creator
replied on Jun 30, 2022
Highest recommendation rate / Top McKinsey coach / 100% success rate at >4 sessions / Honest feedback: no sugar-coating

Hi there, 

Unless they make some wild exception, which I doubt, you'll need to take it again. 

They basically consider that you are reapplying, so you'll go through the same stages.

But I wouldn't worry so much about it. They weigh in the test with the CV and knowing that you've already been to the final round, they're likely to fast forward you to the interviews in no time. 

Best,

Cristian

Was this answer helpful?
Ian
Expert
Content Creator
replied on Jun 30, 2022
MBB | 100% personal interview success rate (8/8) and 95% candidate success rate | Personalized interview prep

Hi there,

Right now the rule is 1 year (so if you apply after, you will need to take it).

However, things are always changing (especially across offices), so you'll just have to wait and see when you apply in the future…the game might not even exist by then!

Was this answer helpful?
Udayan
Expert
Content Creator
replied on Jun 28, 2022
Top rated McKinsey Case & PEI coach/Multiple real offers/McKinsey EM in New York /6 years McKinsey recruiting experience

These rules change all the time and are very office dependent. Your recruiter will inform you what to do when you apply.

Was this answer helpful?
SJ
Certified
replied on Jun 28, 2022

No, you will likely be considered an experienced hire if you're joining BCG/Bain and will not need to take the Imbellus game. I didn't have to do the game at all as an experienced hire. Really depends on your specific circumstance however, and only the recruiter will be able to tell you if and when you reapply to McKinsey

Was this answer helpful?
2
Clara gave the best answer

Clara

Content Creator
McKinsey | Awarded professor at Master in Management @ IE | MBA at MIT |+180 students coached | Integrated FIT Guide aut
68
Meetings
21,823
Q&A Upvotes
103
Awards
5.0
57 Reviews